Participation Overview

ColumbiaGrid’s bylaws identify both the role of members and “qualified non-member participants” in the organization. The members play a significant role in the mission and structure of ColumbiaGrid.  Members and non-member participants, with input from interested persons, develop, draft, and execute functional agreements that define ColumbiaGrid's programs.

There are currently eight members of ColumbiaGrid: Avista Corporation, Bonneville Power Administration, Chelan County PUD, Grant County PUD, Puget Sound Energy, Seattle City Light, Snohomish County PUD, and Tacoma Power. The members elect a board of directors, are responsible for the bylaws, and authorize ColumbiaGrid to enter into Functional Agreements.

Cowlitz PUD,  and Douglas County PUD participate in ColumbiaGrid in the status of a qualified non-member participant.  These companies have signed onto ColumbiaGrid's Planning and Expansion Functional Agreement (PEFA).

ColumbiaGrid encourages broad participation in its activities. An entity can become involved as a member, participant, interested person, or simply attend ColumbiaGrid’s public meetings as an interested observer.


Member: Tacoma Power      Project: ColumbiaGrid     
Tacoma Power

"As a charter member of ColumbiaGrid, Tacoma Power has observed the benefits for its customers of regional transmission planning. Engaging in the ColumbiaGrid collaborative transmission planning process has fostered diverse and innovative solutions. This open process for identifying and resolving transmission challenges has delivered cost-effective reliability to our entire region."
~~ William A. Gaines, Director of Utilities